Our Wedding Vows

My sweet readers –

Here I am finally breaking blog silence!! I hope to start blogging again regularly, as I truly do enjoy it. However, a break was necessary as we started getting close to the wedding and I was completely overwhelmed putting the finishing touches on our wedding that was happening in TX, while I was still in Arkansas… yes, it was crazy! However now as Kyle and I have been finding our married rhythm, I am slowly but surely brainstorming new blog posts to come. A recap of our wedding day is in the works, and will be here as soon as I get the pictures back from our photographer.

In the meantime, I have gotten many questions about the vows that Kyle and I wrote for our wedding. If you plan on getting married any time soon, I would highly recommend writing your own vows! Special words said on your most special day is truly a gift. I have already gone back many times, re-reading the vows Kyle wrote to me. Eventually we would like to get them professionally printed on a canvas to hang in our home as a daily reminder of our promises, but that’s still down the road.

img_9209

Kyle’s Vows…

Jessica, you amaze me.

You are loving, kind, gentle, smart, and so many other good things that I can’t say them all. I am blessed that I get to spend the rest of my life alongside you.

I loved who you were when we met, I love who you are today, and I commit to loving whoever you become in the future. I promise to support you and encourage you in all of your endeavors, and I promise to be your best friend. I will be there for you for all of your successes and I will be there when things don’t go quite as planned. I promise to always listen to you and to respect your opinion, even if it is not what I want to hear.

Life is not always easy, and it is not always perfect, but there is no one else I would rather be with than you. I think Ben Rector said it best when he said, “Life is not the mountaintops, it is the walking in between and I like you walking next to me.” I cannot wait to start our adventure together and live life with you. Jessica, I love you.

Jessica’s Vows…

“Kyle,

Marrying you is the greatest honor.

I have watched our love beat the odds –  we made it through high school, long distance (428 miles, to be exact) and 6 long, beautiful years of building upon the love of two fifteen year old kids who couldn’t stand to be apart. I loved 15 year old you – determined, kind, quiet, and discovering the man who you were destined to be. I loved 19 year old you – broken out of your shell, full of laughter, and forgiving. Now, I love 21 (almost 22) year old you – courageous, optimistic, humble, radiating joy, strong-hearted, God-fearing, open, patient, and everything that I can only hope to be. I can’t wait to love you at 26, 48, and 75. I promise to love you for who you have been, and for who you will become.

Kyle, I promise to respect you as my husband, and to give you my heart daily. I promise to adventure with you, seek Christ on a deeper level together, help you pursue your goals, and to always be your biggest fan. Thank you for reminding me that every day is an adventure. Thank you for being my protector, for loving every part of my soul and only holding me closer as you discover more of my heart.

My love for you, Kyle, is more than just a feeling of inloveness, it is an unwavering confidence that we are so much better together than we are apart, and that unconditional love is real.

Kyle, we have it. I  love you so much.”

………………..

 

My Maid-of-Honor, Maddy, pointed out how similar our vows are, in the theme of loving each other at every stage of life. We reflect on what we have promised one another regularly, in hope that we never take lightly the promises that we have made. I love having these words as a reminder of our commitment, and it is an honor to share them with all of y’all! We love y’all so much, our wedding day was beautiful and I can’t wait to share more with y’all soon!

 

Leave a Reply

